Arroz Con Leche (rice pudding) and the great vegan soy milk test

Pictured: the creamy rice pudding; soy condensed milk; cooking with cinnamon stick

I can’t imagine living without milk or cream. I may not drink it a lot but it’s such an essential baking ingredient that life without it would be like life without chocolate. Oh the humanity!. And what would choc chip cookies do without a pool of bovine awesomeness to dunk in? But obviously, there are people who do live without milk whether by choice, ethical reasons or because of health issues and often they’d turn to soy milk for all their vegan, lactose-free, cholesterol-free or gluten-free needs.

However in the case of Lady Vegan and Miss Lactose-free, they might as well drink mud because the taste of soy milk to them isn’t so awesome. And if they’re not going to drink it, then damn are they’re going to cook with it. Which makes them the perfect guinea pigs for today.


When Clare from
Mark Communications sent me a small package of Nestlé Carnation Soy Cooking Milk to try, I immediately knew what I wanted to do with it and who to do it for. The question is, can soy milk haters still tolerate it in a recipe? And in case you were wondering, this was made specifically for all your baking needs as unlike normal drinking milk, soy cooking milk will not split if under high temperatures.

I chose the one dessert that relies on the taste of full cream bovine milk for utmost pleasure – Arroz Con Leche – a creamy rice pudding from Spain that epitomises everything there is to love about comfort food. As in the case of Miss Lactose-free, it was the perfect choice since it was one that she had to (sadly) give up due to health reasons. As for Lady Vegan, it was a chance to try a soy-based dessert for the first time (and hopefully like it).

Soy cooking milk (available from supermarkets)

Arroz con Leche gets it beautiful sweetness from full-cream condensed milk, which of course, is a no-no, so I had to make the condensed milk from scratch using soy milk. Things didn’t bode well in the beginning as I opened the cans and we all took a deep breath of that distinctive soy aroma but things improved after a quick taste of the soy condensed milk.

“It’s soy-ish but not heavily so”, says a relieved Lady Vegan.

“Sweet…”, was all Miss Lactose-free could mumble.

Of course, you could just replace all the soy milk for full cream milk if you’d like to try it the traditional way. I absolutely adore Arroz Con Leche all year round – as breakfast on cold mornings and on cold nights it’s sublime with poached quinces or pears. In warmer months, serve it cold with fresh fruits or a tumbling of summer berries. Drizzle it with extra condensed milk or honey if you feeling indulgent.


As for the Vegan-friendly and lactose-free rice pudding, the general consensus is that it’s surprisingly tasty. Miss Lactose-free absolutely loves it and is lavishing the thought of constant arroz con leche affection now that her fears of soy milk have been allayed.

As for Lady Vegan, she likes it even though she can still taste a hint of soy. “But it’s tolerable”, she quips between mouthfuls of rice pudding. For her that is as big of a complement as soy desserts are going to get. The Captain? He just took one big ol’ bowl of it and sat down in front of the TV and polished it off in one ad break. I’ll take that as a good sign too.

Naturally I’ll always use my full cream milk in Arroz Con Leche (I’m enjoying a bowl of it right now actually) but for the soy-hating lactards or vegans amongst us, allay your fears and do give it a try in your favourite recipe or dessert. It is after all, very tolerable*.

* tol·er·a·ble (adj.)

1. Lady Vegan’s term for ‘surprisingly delicious’



Soy Condensed Milk

1 C (250ml) soy cooking milk
1 C caster sugar
1 Tbl cornflour

Pour over about 2-3 tablespoons of soy milk over the cornflour and whisk until blended and smooth.

In a pan, heat the remaining milk and sugar and stir to combine. Add the cornflour mixture and bring to a boil.

Reduce the heat (or the milk may boil over) and stir constantly until thickened. If you wish for it to be thicker add a little more cornflour (make sure you whisk it in a little cold soy milk or water before adding to the pot).

Remove from heat and set aside. Any remaining condensed milk can be stored in the fridge.


Vegan Arroz Con Leche (Spanish Rice Pudding)

Serves 2

100g medium grain rice
2 C (500ml) soy cooking milk
1 cinnamon stick
1 strip of lemon or orange rind
1/2 C (125ml) of soy condensed milk (from above recipe)
ground cinnamon

Method

Place the rice in a pot and cover with water (to come up 3 times higher than the rice). Bring to a boil and cook for 5 minutes. Then drain the rice and set aside.

Heat the soy milk with the cinnamon stick and citrus rind. When it has come to a boil, add the rice and reduce the heat.

Sitr the rice constantly over low heat for about 12 minutes (rice should be half cooked) then add the condensed milk.


Stir for another 10 minutes or so or until the rice is fully cooked through. A good way to test is to scoop a few rice grains on the benchtop and if they can be easily squashed then it’s ready.

Spoon into bowls and garnish with a sprinkling of ground cinnamon.

Note: The mixture would probably still look watery and like it has too much liquid but don’t worry, the pudding will thicken up and get creamy when served.


Nestlé Carnation Soy Cooking MIlk is available from all supermarkets in 375ml cans for $2.89 each.


This entry was posted in Desserts and Petit Fours, Gluten-free, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Arroz Con Leche (rice pudding) and the great vegan soy milk test

  1. Trisha says:

    I'm not a soy fan either (except for those Chinese boxed soy milk drinks hehehe) but this looks extremely delicious!! Mmmmm….

  2. Lauren says:

    Yum! This sounds delicious =D. I love how simple it is!

  3. Linda says:

    I'm in no way a fan of soy milk.. but what you've cooked up looks fantastic.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Wow, that looks delicious, defintely something I will have to try, we are trying to cut down on our milk intake, and Arroz Con Leche is a fave. However, I did want to share the knowledge on how dangerous soy milk and products are, they are treated with a chemical called Hexane which is a neurotoxin and also highly combustible, not something we should consume. Though it is relatively easy to make soy milk at home and then ensure that you will not be exposed to this dangerous chemical.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZOKa7CQb8g&feature=channel

    I'm wondering how this recipe would be with nut milks also, I bet it would be really tasty.

  5. Fiona says:

    I've been meaning to try that stuff since I was told about it, but haven't gtten around to it (recently developed milk intolerances)… Next time I'm at the shops. Might look at putting it in Sago pudding!

  6. Anh says:

    This looks really good! I bet I cannot tell it is from soy milk or not 😀

  7. My mum is lactose intolerant, so this would be great for her. I can handle my lactose, but I love soy, so I think I'd love it! Lol at the Captain – downing it all in one ad break = a very good sign!

  8. LOL at your translation of Lady Vegan's “tolerable”. I found some mixed results but I'm not such a huge fan of the soy taste although I know a lot don't mind it, especially if they have an intolerance or allergy 🙂

  9. shaz says:

    This looks really “tolerable” (read: very good):). It's funny, I like Malaysian soybean milk but the one time I tried soy milk here I almost gagged. But condensed soy sounds like it would be pretty good actually.

  10. Lady Vegan says:

    Bahahaha “tolerable”… Did I really say that? LOL

  11. Hi Trisha – I find that's really common with Asians. We love the chinese soya bean milk but somehow can't stomach the 'Westernised soy milk'!

    Hi Lauren – thank you so much!

    Hi Linda – you and me both 🙂 But thank you!

    Hi Anonymous – I had no idea about hexane treatment in soy milk and soy products. I noticed from the video that the research has mainly focused on soy milk studies in America? I'm intrigued to know whether similar studies have been conducted on Australian soy products?

    Yes, making soy milk at home is absolutely doable. In fact my mother use to make the Chinese soya milk from soya beans and I use to love the smell of it as she squeezed the beans. Oh btw, I can only imagine that this would taste great with almond milk!

    Hi Fiona – ooh that sounds like delicious idea!

    Hi Anh – you're welcome to be my guinea pig in any future soy experiments 😀

    Hi Doc Rock – then no doubt you'd love this dessert!

    Hi Betty – yes with The Captain – he's a shower not a teller!

    Hi Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella – Have you ever tasted rice milk or almond milk? I've been strangely intrigued by non-bovine milks as of late!

    Hi shaz – yep me too and most other Asians I think! I think the Malaysian soy milk is just so refreshing and sweet. But the Westernised type of soy milk seem to taste more like um… garden than anything else!

    The exceptions would be my family who oddly love So Good etc as well as the Malaysian soya bean!

    Hi Lady Vegan – uh huh yes you did but I luckily I know you well enough to know what you really meant 😛 xox

  12. Glad to find a recipe like this! I'm going to try making sweetened condensed coconut milk some time soon, thanks!

  13. Hi cinnamonquill – you're very welcome! Hope you enjoy it xx

  14. Miss Lactard says:

    It was so nice to ingest rice pudding without having to worry about the consequences! Thanks again sweets! LMAO Miss Lactose-free? I quite prefer Miss Lactard actually!

  15. FFichiban says:

    Ooh well donne! It looks great 🙂

  16. my absolute favourite version of rice pudding is from a medieval Italian recipe, which uses arborio rice cooked in almond milk in the same way as risotto (adding the liquid little by little), with a little bit of sugar and cinnamon stirred in right at the end. Beautifully creamy, never gluggy, with just a hint of almond flavour.

Leave a comment